Report of the Board of Directors

Results of the year in the context of 3D strategy implementation

Last 12 to 18 month showed us how rapidly a macroeconomic environment, business climate and the world in general may change. We saw how strong external influences can be and how rapidly and promptly we need to react to them. Despite such dynamic changes we were able to provide for a required speed and balance in taking difficult decisions such as retorn of the Company to Uzbekistan market, entry of the Company into a new for it market of the system integration, start of using the brand of our Vodafone partner within the framework of MTS Ukraine business. And perhaps, to avoid getting the impression that all our decisions were aimed at changes, we need to mentions that we confirmed a compliance with the strategy “3D Data, Differentiation, Dividends” adopted at the end of 2013.

Data

When categorizing achievements of the Company by 3D areas, initiatives worth noting primarily are related to Data Transformation.

One of key achievements of the Company in 2015 were a record-breaking volume of construction of the networks for mobile data transfer, and modernization of the landline communication network in Moscow.

Here it is necessary to mention a highly intensive development of new LTE network in Russia over the last 18 months. LTE networks have been launched in 83 regions of Russia. We also continue to develop other elements of our network, for example, 3G mobile network and landline networks, especially in Moscow. All of this allowed the Company to show better income dynamics in comparison to competitors in terms of mobile Internet income in Russia in 2015. Similar efforts were made in other countries of MTS operation. For example, we received 3G license and launched 3G network in first cities of Ukraine. All these issues were worked on at the level of the Board of Directors with a significant attention to the right balance between commercial and competition consequences which are usually defined by the timeline of market entry and the efficiency of investments. Such concentration on the efficiency resulted in initiation and implementation of a very interesting project – active joint use of LTE network in some regions with our competitor VimpelCom. By the way, it was a first example of the active joint use of mobile networks in the entire history of mobile communications in Russia. I also believe that MTS managers were able to improve a very complex method for planning of LTE coverage we call “smart LTE investments” at least partly because of such attention to the efficiency.

Differentiation

As for the second “D,” differentiation, aimed at creation of differentiation points, we need to mention two brand new commercial areas that were analysed and adopted by MTS Board of Directors:

1) Acceleration / launch of “Big data” project as one of the main areas of further development of the entire communications industry;

2) Entry into the system integration market. This is the opportunity for MTS enter the adjacent market and get an additional growth, as well as the possibility for differentiation in B2B market.

It would be no exaggeration to say that initial stages of creating ideas for both projects were carried out by the Board of Directors as we continuously analysed and assessed MTS strategy, business activities, structures and processes and compared them to cutting-edge practices of leading communication operators in the world.

Dividends

Now the last D in 3D strategy, dividends: Board of Directors always thoroughly checks how chief officers of the Company optimize operational expenses and carry out “smart” investments. Finally, despite significant investments that were required for the deployment of LTE networks, introduction GPON and other projects, those investments were made efficiently (intentionally, with a maximum output) and timely.

Board of Directors always examines the main investment projects of the Company thoroughly and requires from the managers an unconditional efficiency of such projects. This allows MTS to star reducing capital expenditures in current difficult times without losing its competitiveness. And that absolutely has a positive impact on possible dividends that are subject of interest of all the investors.

Work intensity and interaction with managers

Before and after each meeting of the Board of Directors, i.е. virtually each month, I have several meetings or phone conversations with representatives of the shareholders or managers of the Company. As usual, topic of such meetings is the “Management of Strategic Changes”. This is all related to initiation of global and strategic changes we consider within the Company. Usually the discussions go beyond a routine management and performance or simple strategy matters. Sometimes they touch upon a general view of systems and processes.

For example, last year we discussed the new Corporate Governance Code (hereinafter, for the purposes of this section – the Code) a lot, outside of the Board of Directors meetings. However, normally addressed issues are important complex strategy matters and long-term perspective. For example, we may discuss long-term global technology trends and things we must do in MTS to meet the requirements of changing environment. We can discuss and share our opinions on Big Data or reflect upon the influence on MTS from developing robotic technologies or IT start-ups. Or we can share our concerns and opinions on specific risks we see in the future of the Company.

We believe it is a good practice allowing each shareholder to share interesting ideas and useful observations of experience of other companies and businesses, which at the end of the day enriches our discussions in the Board of Directors and forms a strong base for right decisions of the executives.

Significance of the role of the independent members of the Board of Directors

We acknowledge that the Board of Directors needs to include independent directors in order to efficiently discharge their functions and take deliberate substantiated decisions.

On June 25, 2015 we increased the number of independent directors in the Board of Directors to four directors. The increase of the independent directors’ number allows the independent standpoint within the Board of Directors to exercise greater influence on the business decisions taken, on the Company’s corporate policy and strategy.

According to the Code recommendations, the key committees, namely the Audit Committee and the Remuneration and Nominations Committee are made up exclusively of independent directors.

At the same time, we note a considerable extension of the independent director’s role issues related to corporate strategy and its implementation monitoring, increase of the Company’s corporate governance quality in general, situation evaluation in case of reorganizations, mergers and acquisitions. The independent director is a participant of all the business processes of the Company carrying responsibility for the Company’s standing and work results on an equal basis.

Evaluation of the Board of Directors performance

The evaluation of the Board of Directors performance serves as an efficient tool of corporate governance development and is aimed to raise the efficiency of Board of Directors performance.

After adoption of the Code and completion of the corporate governance audit of MTS in 2015 the Corporate Governance Committee under the Board of Directors made a decision on the need for drafting a new methodology, for which an external advisor was engaged.

Self-evaluation of the Board of Directors using a new evaluation methodology is planned for 2016.

Development of Corporate Governance System at Plans for 2016

2015 we continued the work on development of our corporate governance system.

Beginning of 2015 saw the completion of the audit of Company’s corporate governance, conducted following the instruction of the Corporate Governance Committee under the Board of Directors within the framework of implementation of Code recommendations in the company. Audit confirmed high level of corporate governance and implementation of principles and recommendations of the Corporate Governance Code.

Following the audit results we approved the Roadmap for implementation of Code recommendations in MTS (Roadmap), and started its enforcement. Most of the Roadmap activities were done by the end of 2015. Details on fulfilment of the Code see in the section on observation of principles and recommendations of the Corporate Governance Code.

In 2015 we also introduced new institute of anti-monopoly compliance, new for Russian practices of corporate governance. Details on implementation of the system see in the Compliance System section.

We positively assess the results we managed to achieve, however we do not settle for them. We strive to continuously improve our corporate governance in view of the experience and practices in the market, listing regulations and legislation changes. That is why our main goal for the next year is to continue implementation of Roadmap activities with regard to changing regulatory environment.

Ron Sommer
Chairman of MTS PJSC Board of Directors

Отчет Совета директоров

Итоги года в контексте реализации стратегии 3Д

Последние год-полтора продемонстрировали нам, насколько динамично могут изменяться макроэкономическая среда, условия ведения бизнеса и мир в целом. Мы увидели, насколько сильным может быть влияние извне, насколько оперативно и быстро приходится на них реагировать. Несмотря на столь динамичные изменения, нам удалось обеспечить необходимую скорость и правильный баланс при принятии таких сложных решений, как возвращение Компании на рынок Узбекистана, выход Компании на новый для нее рынок системной интеграции, начало использования бренда нашего партнера Vodafone в рамках бизнеса МТС-Украина. Наверное, чтобы не создавалось впечатления, что все наши решения были нацелены на изменения, отметим тот факт, что мы подтвердили соответствие стратегии 3Д «Данные. Дифференциация. Дивиденды», принятой в конце 2013 года.

Данные

Если классифицировать достижения Компании по направлениям 3Д, в первую очередь необходимо отметить инициативы, связанные с трансформацией данных.

Одним из ключевых достижений Компании в 2015 году стал рекордный объем строительства сетей для мобильной передачи данных, а также модернизация стационарной сети связи в Москве.

Здесь необходимо упомянуть интенсивное развитие новой сети LTE в России в последние 18 месяцев. Сети LTE запущены в 83 регионах России. Мы также продолжаем развивать другие элементы нашей сети, например, мобильную сеть 3G и стационарные сети, особенно в Москве. Все это позволило Компании показать лучшую по сравнению с конкурентами динамику доходов от мобильного Интернета в России в 2015 году. Аналогичные усилия предпринимались в других странах присутствия МТС. Например, мы получили лицензию 3G и запустили сеть 3G в нескольких городах Украины. При разработке всех этих вопросов на уровне Совета директоров уделялось немало внимания правильному балансу между коммерческими и конкурентными последствиями, которые обычно определяются сроками выхода на рынок и эффективностью инвестиций. В результате такой концентрации на эффективности был инициирован и реализован очень интересный проект — активное совместное использование сети LTE в некоторых регионах с нашим конкурентом «ВымпелКом». Кстати, это был первый пример активного совместного использования мобильных сетей за всю историю мобильной связи в России. Полагаю, что, по крайней мере, отчасти в результате такого внимания к эффективности руководство МТС усовершенствовало очень сложный метод планирования покрытия LTE, который мы называем «умные инвестиции в LTE».

Дифференциация

Второе «Д», дифференциация, направлено на создание точек дифференциации. Следует упомянуть два совершенно новых коммерческих направления, которые были проанализированы и приняты Советом директоров МТС:

1) Ускорение/запуск проекта «Большие данные» как одного из основных направлений дальнейшего развития всей отрасли связи.

2) Выход на рынок системной интеграции — это возможность для МТС выйти на смежный рынок и получить дополнительное направление роста, а также возможность дифференциации на рынке B2B.

Не будет преувеличением сказать, что первоначальные этапы — этапы формирования идей — обоих проектов осуществлялись силами Совета директоров, так как мы постоянно анализировали и оценивали стратегию МТС, бизнес-деятельность, структуры и процессы, и сравнивали их с передовой практикой ведущих операторов связи в мире.

Дивиденды

Третье «Д» в стратегии «3Д» МТС — дивиденды. Совет директоров всегда тщательно проверяет, как руководство Компании оптимизирует операционные издержки и осуществляет «умные» инвестиции. В итоге можно отметить, что, несмотря на значительные инвестиции, которых потребовало развертывание сетей LTE, внедрение GPON и других проектов, эти инвестиции были осуществлены эффективным образом (целенаправленно, с максимальной отдачей) и своевременно.

Совет директоров всегда скрупулезно изучает основные инвестиционные проекты Компании и требует от менеджмента безусловной эффективности данных проектов, что позволяет МТС в это непростое время приступить к снижению капитальных затрат без потери конкурентоспособности. Безусловно, это положительно сказывается на возможных дивидендах, в которых заинтересованы все инвесторы.

Интенсивность работы и взаимодействие с менеджментом

До и после каждого совещания Совета директоров, практически каждый месяц, у меня проходит несколько встреч или звонков с представителями акционеров или менеджментом Компании. Как правило, темой таких встреч является «Управление стратегическими изменениями». Это все связано с инициированием глобальных и стратегических изменений, которые мы рассматриваем в Компании. Обычно это выходит за рамки рутинного управления и результативности или простых стратегических вопросов. Иногда это касается общего взгляда на системы и процессы.

Например, в прошлом году мы много обсуждали за пределами совещаний Совета директоров новый Кодекс корпоративного управления (далее также для целей данного раздела — Кодекс). Как правило, это касается важных и непростых стратегических вопросов, а также долгосрочного видения. Например, мы можем обсуждать долгосрочные глобальные технологические тенденции и то, что нам нужно сделать в рамках МТС, чтобы соответствовать требованиям этой меняющейся среды. Мы можем обсуждать и делиться мнениями по поводу «Больших данных», размышлять на тему влияния на МТС со стороны развивающейся робототехники или ИТ-стартапов. Или мы можем делиться опасениями и мнениями по поводу конкретных рисков, которые мы видим в будущем Компании.

Мы полагаем, что это хорошая практика, которая позволяет делиться интересными идеями и полезными наблюдениями из опыта других компаний и бизнесов, что в конечном итоге обогащает содержание наших дискуссий в Совете директоров и формирует прочную базу для правильных решений руководства.

Значение роли независимых членов Совета директоров

Мы признаем, что для эффективного осуществления Советом директоров своих функций и принятия взвешенных, обоснованных решений, в его состав должны входить независимые директора.

25 июня 2015 г. мы увеличили количество независимых директоров в составе Совета директоров до четырех директоров. Увеличение количества независимых директоров позволяет независимой позиции в Совете директоров оказывать большее влияние на принимаемые бизнес-решения, корпоративную политику и стратегию Компании.

Согласно рекомендациям Кодекса, ключевые комитеты — по аудиту, а также по вознаграждениям и назначениям — сформированы исключительно из независимых директоров.

При этом мы отмечаем заметное расширение роли независимого директора в вопросах корпоративной стратегии и мониторинга ее реализации, повышения качества корпоративного управления Компании в целом, оценки ситуации при реорганизациях, слияниях и поглощениях. Независимый директор — участник всех бизнес-процессов Компании, наравне со всеми несущий ответственность за состояние Компании и результаты ее работы.

Оценка работы Совета директоров

Оценка работы Совета директоров служит действенным инструментом развития корпоративного управления и призвана повысить эффективность работы Совета директоров.

После принятия Кодекса и проведения аудита корпоративного управления МТС в 2015 г. Комитет по корпоративному управлению при Совете директоров принял решение о необходимости разработки новой методологии, для которой был привлечен внешний консультант.

В 2016 г. планируется проведение самооценки работы Совета директоров с использованием новой методологии оценки.

Развитие системы корпоративного управления и планы на 2016 г.

В 2015 году мы продолжили работу по развитию нашей системы корпоративного управления.

В начале 2015 года был завершен аудит корпоративного управления Компании, который был проведен по поручению Комитета по корпоративному управлению при Совете директоров в рамках имплементации рекомендаций Кодекса в компании. Аудит подтвердил высокий уровень корпоративного управления и степень исполнения принципов и рекомендаций Кодекса корпоративного управления.

По результатам аудита мы утвердили Дорожную карту по внедрению в МТС рекомендаций Кодекса («Дорожная карта») и начали ее реализацию. По итогам 2015 года большая часть мероприятий Дорожной карты реализована. Подробнее о соблюдении Кодекса — в разделе о соблюдении принципов и рекомендаций Кодекса корпоративного управления.

В 2015 году мы также внедрили новый для российской практики корпоративного управления институт антимонопольного комплаенс. Подробнее о внедрении системы — в разделе Система комплаенс.

Мы положительно оцениваем результаты, которых нам удалось добиться, но, несмотря на это, мы не стоим на месте. Мы стремимся постоянно совершенствовать наше корпоративное управление, ориентируясь на опыт и практику, существующие на рынке, на правила листинга и изменения законодательства. Поэтому в следующем году нашей главной задачей будет продолжение реализации мероприятий Дорожной карты с учетом меняющейся регуляторной среды.

Председатель Совета директоров ПАО «МТС»
Рон Зоммер