Message of the Board Chairman

Dear shareholders,

2015 was a challenging year for the economy of Russia and neighbourin countries. The ongoing crisis affected the telecommunications industry negatively as well: fall of the consumer purchasing power, reduction of expenses of the corporate customers, rouble devaluation and rise in the borrowing costs. As always happens in such cases, the market competition has been increasing for each remaining rouble, hryvnia or dram of the customer. Therefore, I am pleased to report that, despite this complicated situation, in 2015, MTS Group increased its revenue by 5% to RUB 431 billion, including due to its growth in the largest, yet stagnant Russian mobile communication market.

Senior executives specified the main company performance outcomes for the past year in more detail in the next section. Here, I would like to draw your attention to the fact that the overall positive company development dynamics in this difficult time evidences both the right choice of MTS development strategy in general and its high-quality implementation by the Group’s management fully supported and controlled by the Board of Directors. Although Andrey Dubovskov, the President of our company, will set out in this Report the MTS strategy in more detail in a few pages, I would like to highlight the main achievements in its implementation in 2015.

Following the strategy approved at year-end 2013, MTS identified three main development areas: Data, Differentiation and Dividends (the 3D strategy). I am pleased to report that MTS demonstrated good results in all these areas. Thus, in 2015, MTS revenue from mobile data transfer in the Russian market grew by 20% to RUB 77.2 billion, including due to the significant growth in LTE base stations; 3G-networks were launched in all major cities of Ukraine and their active construction is going on that has already given further impetus to business in this country. New business directions aimed at ensuring sustained business growth in the future were being developed actively. Although the share of financial services, M2M services, satellite TV and fixed line communication in the Russian regions is not great in terms of the total revenue, I am sure that these services will become a full-fledged support for MTS business in the future. Finally, thanks to the competent work of the company’s financial unit and to the continued managerial efforts to improve operating efficiency, MTS in 2015 paid record-setting dividend amounting to RUB 52 billion.

Over the past year, the Board of Directors met about 12 times and these meetings were by no means formal. Whether a discussion of the management report on the overall strategy progress, changes in the company KPI or entering a system integration market new to MTS – all these and dozens of other equally important issues were subjected to an extensive discussion by the Board members. An ample narrative on the activity of the Board of Directors is set forth in the relevant section hereof. I would like to thank my colleagues from the Board for their contribution to the representation of interests of the company shareholders. Our four independent non-executive directors used their considerable experience by participating actively in the strategy discussions and making of investment decisions. In these difficult times, we remain committed to high corporate governance standards and keep a regular and transparent communication with our shareholders and the market in general.

Ron Sommer,
Chairman of MTS PJSC Board of Directors

Обращение Председателя Совета директоров

Уважаемые акционеры!

Год 2015 выдался непростым для экономики России и сопредельных стран. Телекоммуникационная отрасль также ощутила на себе негативное влияние происходящих кризисных явлений — падения покупательской способности населения и сокращения расходов корпоративных клиентов, девальвации рубля и роста стоимости заимствований. Как всегда бывает в подобных случаях, на рынках растет конкуренция за каждый оставшийся рубль, гривну или драм клиента. Тем более я рад сообщить, что, несмотря на эту сложную ситуацию, Группа МТС в 2015 году нарастила выручку на 5%, до 431 млрд рублей, в том числе и за счет роста на крупнейшем, но, увы, стагнирующем рынке мобильной связи России.

Более подробно основные результаты деятельности Компании в прошедшем году представлены менеджментом в следующем разделе. Здесь я хотел бы обратить внимание на то, что общая положительная динамика развития Компании в это трудное время говорит как о правильном выборе стратегии развития МТС в целом, так и о качественной ее реализации силами менеджмента Группы при всемерной поддержке и контроле Совета директоров. Президент нашей Компании Андрей Дубовсков подробно расскажет о стратегии МТС в этом Отчете через несколько страниц, я хотел бы отметить основные достижения на пути ее выполнения в 2015 году.

Следуя утвержденной в конце 2013 года стратегии, Компания МТС определила для себя три главные области развития — Данные, Дифференциация, Дивиденды (Стратегия «3Д»). Мне приятно сообщить, что во всех этих областях Компания продемонстрировала хорошие результаты. Так, выручка МТС от мобильной передачи данных на российском рынке выросла в 2015 году на 20%, до 77,2 млрд рублей, в том числе за счет роста числа базовых станций LTE; 3G-сети запущены во всех крупнейших городах Украины, их активное строительство продолжается, что уже придало дополнительный импульс бизнесу в этой стране. Новые направления бизнеса, призванные обеспечить устойчивый рост бизнеса в будущем, активно развивались. Хотя доля финансовых услуг, услуг M2M, спутникового ТВ или фиксированной связи в регионах России в общем объеме выручки еще невелика, уверен, что в будущем эти услуги станут полноценной опорой бизнеса МТС. Наконец, благодаря грамотной работе финансового блока компании, а также постоянным усилиям руководства по повышению операционной эффективности, МТС осуществила рекордные дивидендные выплаты в 2015 году в объеме 52 млрд рублей.

За прошедший год Совет директоров собирался 12 раз. Эти заседания носили отнюдь не формальный характер. Будь то обсуждение доклада менеджмента об общем ходе выполнения стратегии, изменение КПЭ Компании или выход на новый для МТС рынок системной интеграции — все это и десятки других не менее важных вопросов подвергались предметному обсуждению членами Совета. Подробный рассказ о работе Совета директоров представлен в соответствующем разделе данного Отчета. Я хотел бы поблагодарить моих коллег из Совета за их вклад в представление интересов акционеров Компании. Наши четыре независимых неисполнительных директора использовали свой значительный опыт, активно участвуя в обсуждениях стратегии и принятии инвестиционных решений. В эти трудные времена мы сохранили приверженность самым высоким стандартам корпоративного управления и поддерживаем регулярную и прозрачную связь с нашими акционерами и рынком в целом.

Председатель Совета директоров ПАО «МТС»
Рон Зоммер