Compliance System

Taking a leading position in the industry, the Company is aware of its high responsibility for business transparency, ethics and lawfulness. For the purposes of maintaining and preserving its high business reputation to the state, shareholders, customers, partners, competitors and society in general, the Company for several years has been developing the corporate system of compliance with requirements of applicable legislation and business ethics (“compliance”).

The Company adheres to principles of compliance with requirements of applicable anti-corruption legislation (anti-corruption legislation of countries, on the territory of which the Company performs its activities, Foreign Corrupt Practices Act 1977, The Bribery Act 2010) and business ethics in all business relations and irrespective of a world country, in which the Company performs its business activities. The Company fixed the principle of non-acceptance of corruption in any forms and occurrences both in everyday activities and when implementing strategic projects.

Main documents governing compliance of the procedure inside MTS are the Code of Business Conduct and Ethics, Compliance with anti-corruption legislation Policy, Conflict of interests management Policy. Besides, procedures for assuring compliance with anti-corruption legislation are fixed in regulations of Company’s business-processes.

The compliance system in MTS PJSC sets forth measures aimed at regulatory risk management, improving corporate culture of the Company, implementing and developing in the Company best corporate governance practices as well as standards of responsible business conduct relying on norms of applicable legislation, recommendations of regulatory bodies, industrial specifics and best practices in this area.

Basic principles and elements of the compliance system in MTS PJSC are as follows.

  • Company’s management actively demonstrates its commitment to compliance principles as well as supports efforts for implementation and assurance of operation of the corporate compliance system (tone from the top).
  • The Company regularly conducts measures for discovery and subsequent updating of corruption risks paying special attention to risks specific for its activities, regions of operations as well as potentially vulnerable business-processes.
  • The Company develops and implements anti-corruption procedures reasonably and proportionally meeting the level and nature of discovered risks.
  • The Company implements and maintains the program of training of its employees and members of management bodies in principles and standards of compliance with applicable anti-corruption legislation by means of a specially developed training system. The Company by means of informing and training contributes to the increase of the level of corporate culture, awareness of anti-corruption and business ethics issues.
  • The Company exercises monitoring of efficiency of implemented procedures for corruption prevention, monitors compliance and, if required, improves them.
  • the Company established criteria for defining the need for inclusion of an anti-corruption clause in the text of a contract, which take into consideration the risk level both depending on contract party category and on the type of established relationships.
  • for the purposes of minimisation of the risk of Company’s involvement in corrupt practices, the Company developed due diligence procedures both in respect of contract parties – legal entities (including members of joint ventures, companies or associations) and in respect of individuals with whom the Company plans to enter into a labour contract or a civil law contract. The due diligence procedure is also applied if the Company acquires a stake in some legal entities.
  • the Company established the procedure for preliminary control as well as the reporting system and subsequent analysis of the most risky transactions in terms of compliance, including, but not limited to, in the area of granting, implementation of representation expenses, organisation of measures, corporate social responsibility, procurement, marketing, sales, M&A transactions etc.
  • as part of internal control procedures the Company conducts inspections of the discipline of execution of the established procedure for implementation of business processes, including inspections of lawfulness of executed transactions with Company’s assets;
  • the Company operates a hot line enabling, inter alia, to anonymously send messages about compliance violations. Bona-fide claimants are provided by the Company with protection from any forms of persecution or discrimination.

In 2015 the Company continued to improve the compliance system as follows.

  • The project of independent evaluation of efficiency of the compliance system of MTS PJSC was implemented. Based on the results of evaluation conducted by an international professional consultant, the corporate compliance system of MTS was marked as an example of the leading Russian anti-corruption compliance practice.
  • The project of independent evaluation of compliance risks by divisions in their specific business processes (evaluation of “from bottom to top”) with methodological support of the Compliance Department was implemented. Based on project results the compliance risk map was updated. The procedure for independent evaluation of compliance risks by business divisions will become annual and will be automated.
  • A number of system-important compliance procedures was reviewed and improved, regulatory documents were refined, including, proposals for modification of the procedure for contract party auditing for the purpose of its optimisation and implementation of a risk-oriented approach were drafted, the current version of the Code of Business Conduct and Ethics of MTS PJSC etc. was updated.

In 2015 the Company continued active development of the corporate compliance culture: the frequency of internal compliance communications was increased significantly, the range of used internal communication tools was expanded, the Ethics and Compliance Day was held for the first time in the Company. The number of MTS employees, who undergo training in compliance in-person and in electronic form, is rising.

Active development of compliance systems in subsidiaries and affiliates of MTS continued. The Company pays special attention to compliance development in jurisdictions with high country risks. Under the compliance system development strategy in the entire MTS Group of Companies the implementation program includes companies newly entered into MTS Group.

During a year Company’s specialists actively spoke at specialist conferences, participated in work groups, round tables dedicated to compliance as well as took direct part in establishment of international standards and best practices in this area.

Coduct of business conduct and ethics of MTS PJSC

The leading position of our Company in the market is largely determined by the size and scope of its activities, dynamic development and continuous differentiation of products and services for subscribers. Today, however, it takes more than just seeking to improve investment and operating efficiency to be a successful company. Prominence of our Company obliges us to support its reputation in a best possible way as a socially responsible organisation for our subscribers, shareholders, partners, and all stakeholders and the public.

Code of Business Conduct and Ethics (hereinafter, the Code) contains the basic business principles of MTS PJSC. In its activities, MTS complies with legislation and generally accepted standards of business ethics. The Company does not accept any other ways of doing business that are contrary to these rules.

The Code should be regarded as a document containing a minimum set of standards and requirements adopted by the Company in order to promote fair and ethical business practices and to prevent abuse. The Code defines the rules and standards that should be followed by the employees in their everyday work. In cases requiring application of higher standards than the accepted commercial practice, or regulations having greater legal force under the current legislation, MTS will use such higher standards.

The Code applies to the members of the Board of Directors, senior management and other employees of the Company.

All employees are responsible for compliance with the Code and are personally responsible for their actions.

The Code is a fundamental document, which guides us in our daily work and helps us to protect the good name of our Company and maintain our competitive advantage.

Insider Information

MTS as a company holding leading positions in the field of corporate governance and issuer, the securities of which are circulated not only in Russia but in USA pays special attention to the development of measures for counteraction to unlawful usage of insider information.

The Company operates the system of processes and procedures aimed at preventing breaches of legislation on the usage of insider information built with due account of best Russian and international practices. Thus, the company adopted regulatory acts establishing the procedure for usage of insider information and corresponding prohibitions regulating the procedure for maintaining the insider list, list of insider information as well as the procedure for submission of information upon requests from the Bank of Russia and the Moscow stock exchange.

In accordance with best international practices and for the purposes of prevention of transaction using inside information, the Company set restrictions for all employees and members of management bodies for execution of transactions with MTS securities in so called “Closed” periods.

Besides, an important system element is the program of regular training of company’s insiders in their duties, requirements and prohibitions of legislation on insider information as well as procedures for insider information protection applied in MTS.

Subsequent control, in the form of audits of compliance with rules for insider information disclosure and audits of insiders’ compliance with requirements of legislation and internal regulations of the company plays a no less important role. In 2015 such audits did not discover major breaches. High standards and quality of MTS policies in terms of compliance with legislation on protection of insider information were confirmed in 2015 as part of cooperation with an international law firm.

System of antimonopoly risk prevention

Developing its leadership not only in business but als in the area of corporate governance, MTS in 2015 implemented the antimonopoly risk management system. The system’s task is to mitigate legal risks arising during Company’s activities which are related to requirements of legislation on protection of competition.

Basic elements of the established system are based on generally accepted risk management and requirement compliance assurance principles and are developed together with major auditors and legal advisers.

The system’s core is periodic risk assessment, implemented preliminary and subsequent controls as well as regular employee training. In this regard, a series of specialised trainings aimed at forming in them a clear understanding of requirements of antimonopoly legislation as well as high compliance-culture level was conducted for MTS employees working in all Macro-regions — from Moscow to Vladivostok.

The operating system was presented to a regulator (FAS of Russia) which positively responded to MTS initiative.

Система комплаенс

Занимая лидирующее положение в отрасли, Компания осознает свою высокую ответственность за прозрачность, этичность и законность ведения бизнеса. В целях поддержания и сохранения своей высокой деловой репутации перед государством, акционерами, клиентами, партнерами, конкурентами и обществом в целом Компания на протяжении нескольких лет активно развивает корпоративную систему обеспечения соответствия требованиям применимого законодательства и этичного ведения бизнеса («комплаенс»).

Компания придерживается принципов соблюдения требований применимого антикоррупционного законодательства (антикоррупционное законодательство стран, на территории которых Компания осуществляет свою деятельность, Foreign Corrupt Practices Act 1977, The Bribery Act 2010) и этического делового поведения во всех видах деловых отношений и независимо от страны мира, в которой Компания осуществляет свою хозяйственную деятельность. В Компании закреплен принцип неприятия коррупции в любых формах и проявлениях как в повседневной деятельности, так и при реализации стратегических проектов.

Деятельность МТС в области комплаенс организована на систематической основе через вовлечение всех руководителей Компании в процесс построения системы комплаенс, включая закрепление ответственности за различные направления комплаенс за вице-президентами, утверждение Советом Директоров индивидуальных КПЭ по комплаенс для топ-менеджмента и включение в трудовые договоры менеджеров высшего звена и каждого сотрудника Компании норм, устанавливающих обязательства работника о выполнении требований комплаенс.

Основными документами, регулирующими комплаенс процедуры внутри МТС, являются Кодекс делового поведения и этики, Политика «Соблюдение антикоррупционного законодательства», Политика «Управление конфликтом интересов». Кроме того, процедуры по обеспечению соблюдения антикоррупционного законодательства закреплены в регламентах бизнес-процессов Компании.

Система комплаенс в ПАО «МТС» устанавливает меры, направленные на управление регуляторными рисками, совершенствование корпоративной культуры Компании, внедрение и развитие в Компании лучших практик корпоративного управления, а также стандартов ответственного делового поведения, опираясь на нормы применимого законодательства, рекомендации регуляторных органов, отраслевую специфику и лучшие практики в этой сфере.

Основными принципами и элементами системы комплаенс в ПАО «МТС» являются:

  • руководство Компании активно демонстрирует свою приверженность принципам комплаенс, а также поддерживает усилия по внедрению и обеспечению функционирования корпоративной системы комплаенс (tone from the top);
  • Компания регулярно проводит мероприятия по выявлению и последующей актуализации коррупционных рисков, уделяя особое внимание рискам, характерным для ее деятельности, регионов присутствия, а также потенциально уязвимых бизнес-процессов;
  • Компания разрабатывает и внедряет процедуры по противодействию коррупции, разумно и пропорционально отвечающие уровню и характеру выявленных рисков;
  • Компания реализует и поддерживает программу обучения своих сотрудников и членов органов управления принципам и стандартам соответствия применимому антикоррупционному законодательству посредством специально разработанной системы тренингов. Путем информирования и обучения Компания содействует повышению уровня корпоративной культуры, осведомленности в вопросах противодействия коррупции и этичного ведения бизнеса;
  • Компания осуществляет мониторинг эффективности внедренных процедур по предотвращению коррупции, контролирует соблюдение и при необходимости совершенствует их;
  • в Компании установлены критерии определения необходимости включения антикоррупционной оговорки в текст договора, которые учитывают уровень риска как в зависимости от категории контрагента, так и от вида устанавливаемых взаимоотношений;
  • в целях минимизации риска вовлечения Компании в коррупционную деятельность в Компании разработаны процедуры проверки (due diligence) как в отношении контрагентов — юридических лиц (включая участников совместных предприятий, обществ или объединений), так и в отношении физических лиц, с которыми Компания планирует заключить трудовой договор или договор гражданско-правового характера. Процедура проверки применяется также и в случаях приобретения Компанией доли участия в каких-либо юридических лицах;
  • в Компании установлены порядок предварительного контроля, а также система отчетности и последующий анализ наиболее рискованных с точки зрения комплаенс транзакций, но не ограничиваясь в области дарения, осуществления представительских расходов, организации мероприятий, корпоративной социальной ответственности, закупок, маркетинга, продаж, сделок M&A и т.д.;
  • в рамках процедур внутреннего контроля в Компании проводятся проверки дисциплины исполнения установленного порядка выполнения бизнес-процессов, включая проверки законности осуществляемых операций с активами Компании;
  • в Компании функционирует горячая линия, позволяющая в том числе направлять сообщения о нарушениях в области комплаенс анонимно. Добросовестные заявители обеспечиваются защитой Компании от любых форм преследования или дискриминации.

В 2015 году Компания продолжила совершенствовать систему комплаенс:

  • реализован проект независимой оценки эффективности системы комплаенс ПАО «МТС». По результатам оценки, проведенной международным профессиональным консультантом, корпоративная система комплаенс МТС была отмечена как пример ведущей российской практики антикоррупционного комплаенс;
  • реализован проект самостоятельной оценки подразделениями комплаенс-рисков в присущих им бизнес процессах (оценка рисков снизу-вверх) при методологической поддержке Департамента комплаенс. По результатам проекта была актуализирована карта комплаенс-рисков. Процедура самостоятельной оценки комплаенс-рисков бизнес-подразделениями станет ежегодной и будет автоматизирована; 
  • пересмотрен и усовершенствован ряд важных для системы комплаенс процедур, доработаны нормативные документы, в том числе разработаны предложения по изменению процедуры проверки контрагентов с целью ее оптимизации и внедрению риск-ориентированного подхода, обновлена текущая версия Кодекса делового поведения и этики ПАО «МТС» и т.д.

В 2015 году Компания продолжила активное развитие корпоративной культуры комплаенс: существенно увеличилась частота внутренних коммуникаций по вопросам комплаенс, расширился диапазон используемых инструментов внутренних коммуникаций, в Компании впервые был проведен День этики и комплаенс. Растет число сотрудников МТС, проходящих обучение по вопросам комплаенс очно и в электронной форме.

Продолжилось активное развитие систем комплаенс в дочерних и зависимых обществах МТС. Компания уделяет особое внимание развитию комплаенс в юрисдикциях с высокими страновыми рисками. В рамках стратегии развития системы комплаенс во всей Группе компаний МТС в программу внедрения включаются вновь вошедшие в Группу МТС общества.

В течение года специалисты Компании активно выступали на профильных конференциях, участвовали в рабочих группах, круглых столах, посвященных тематике комплаенс, а также принимали непосредственное участие в создании международных стандартов и лучших практик в этой области.

Кодекс делового поведения и этики ПАО «МТС»

Лидирующее место нашей Компании на рынке во многом определяется масштабами и оборотами ее деятельности, динамичным развитием и постоянной дифференциацией продуктов и услуг для абонентов. Однако, чтобы быть успешной компанией сегодня, недостаточно стремиться только к улучшению инвестиционной и операционной эффективности. Известность нашей Компании обязывает нас наилучшим образом обеспечивать ее деловую репутацию как социально ответственной организации перед нашими абонентами, акционерами, партнерами и всеми заинтересованными лицами, и общественностью.

Кодекс делового поведения и этики (далее — Кодекс) содержит основные принципы ведения бизнеса ПАО «МТС». В своей деятельности МТС соблюдает законодательство и следует общепринятым стандартам деловой этики. Компания не приемлет любые иные пути ведения бизнеса, противоречащие этим правилам.

Кодекс следует рассматривать как документ, содержащий минимальный набор стандартов и требований, принятых в Компании, с целью содействия честному и этичному ведению бизнеса и предотвращения злоупотреблений. В Кодексе определены правила и стандарты, которым сотрудникам необходимо руководствоваться в повседневной работе. В тех случаях если требуется применение более высоких стандартов, чем принято в коммерческой практике, или нормативного правового акта большей юридической силы согласно действующему законодательству, МТС будет использовать такие высокие стандарты.

Кодекс действует в отношении членов Совета директоров, руководящего состава и остальных сотрудников Компании.

Все сотрудники несут ответственность за соблюдение Кодекса и лично отвечают за свои действия.

Кодекс — это основополагающий документ, которым мы руководствуемся в нашей повседневной работе и который помогает защищать доброе имя нашей Компании и сохранять наше конкурентное преимущество.

Инсайдерская информация

МТС как компания, занимающая лидирующие позиции в области корпоративного управления, и эмитент, ценные бумаги которого обращаются не только в России, но и в США, уделяет особое внимание развитию мер противодействия неправомерному использованию инсайдерской информации.

В Компании действует система процессов и процедур, направленная на предотвращение нарушений законодательства об использовании инсайдерской информации, построенная с учетом лучших российских и международных практик. Так, в Компании приняты нормативные акты, устанавливающие порядок использования инсайдерской информации и соответствующие запреты, регламентирующие порядок ведения списка инсайдеров, перечня инсайдерской информации, а также порядок предоставления информации по запросам Банка России и Московской биржи.

В соответствии с лучшими международными практиками и для целей предотвращения сделок с использованием инсайдерской информации в Компании установлены ограничения для всех сотрудников и членов органов управления по совершению операций с ценными бумагами МТС в так называемые закрытые периоды.

Важным элементом системы также является программа регулярного обучения инсайдеров компании об их обязанностях, о требованиях и запретах законодательства об инсайдерской информации, а также о действующих в МТС процедурах по защите инсайдерской информации.

Не менее важную роль играет и последующий контроль в виде проверок соблюдения правил раскрытия инсайдерской информации и проверок соблюдения инсайдерами требований законодательства и внутренних нормативных актов Компании. В 2015 году такие проверки не выявили существенных нарушений. Высокие стандарты и качество политик МТС в области соблюдения законодательства о защите инсайдерской информации были подтверждены в 2015 году в рамках взаимодействия с международной юридической фирмой.

Система предупреждения антимонопольных рисков

Развивая свое лидерство не только в бизнесе, но и в области корпоративного управления, в 2015 году Компания МТС внедрила систему управления антимонопольными рисками. Задачей системы является снижение возникающих в ходе деятельности Компании правовых рисков, связанных с требованиями законодательства о защите конкуренции.

Основные элементы созданной системы основаны на общепринятых принципах управления рисками и обеспечения соответствия требованиям и разработаны совместно с крупнейшими аудиторами и юридическими консультантами.

Основой системы являются периодическая оценка рисков, внедренные предварительные и последующие контроли, а также регулярное обучение сотрудников. В связи с этим для сотрудников МТС, работающих во всех макрорегионах — от Москвы до Владивостока, — была проведена серия специализированных тренингов, направленных на формирование у них четкого понимания требований антимонопольного законодательства, а также высокого уровня комплаенс-культуры.

Работающая система была представлена регулятору (ФАС России), который позитивно отреагировал на инициативу МТС.